Strathbogie Shire Council

Tel 24/7: 1800 065 993

Female majority a first for Strathbogie Shire

Female majority a first for Strathbogie Shire

A female majority for the first time will lead Strathbogie Shire, as the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) declared the results of the 2020 local government elections.

Over a four-year term, four female and three male councillors will represent the Shire. The result surpasses the previous highest representation of women, which was achieved in 2016 with three. However, on that occasion, men replaced two of those female councillors who later announced their resignation from council.

The incoming 2020-24 Council features six new faces, with only Cr Chris Raeburn previously sitting on council.

Strathbogie Shire Chief Executive Officer, Julie Salomon, welcomed all councillors-elect.

"Please join me in congratulating our councillors-elect, who have earned the right to provide a strong voice for their community. It's so exciting to see so many fresh faces, who I'm sure will bring new ideas and enthusiasm.

"I urge everyone to show their support as they embark on their journey. I can't wait to see what this new council can achieve for our thriving and vibrant communities."

Ms Salomon also encouraged the community to pay their respects to the outgoing council, which included many long-serving councillors and former mayor, Amanda McClaren.

"We have benefited enormously from your experience and dedication. We're indebted to your service and we wish you the very best."

The Strathbogie Shire result comes after a Victorian Government campaign seeking to increase female representation in local government. Subsequently, for the 2020 elections, Victoria achieved its highest recorded number of female candidates (39 per cent).

This year also marks the first election where all candidates completed the mandatory Local Government Candidate Training Course through Local Government Victoria.

Councillors-elect will be sworn in on Tuesday, 17 November, at 6pm.

Strathbogie Shire Council 2020-24:
• Honeysuckle Creek ward: Chris Raeburn
• Hughes Creek ward: Paul Murray
• Lake Nagambie ward: Melanie Likos and Reg Dickinson
• Mount Wombat ward: Laura Binks
• Seven Creeks ward: Kristy Hourigan and Sally Hayes-Burke

election results

Featured Links

Top of Page